Whenever you are in an auto-accident, it always best to take action immediately when it comes to filing a claim or contacting an attorney, but this does not mean that you lose your case if you do not act quickly. Depending on your state, there is a statute of limitations as to how long you are allowed to wait to take your case to court. While the statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Virginia is 2 years, the District of Columbia and Maryland have a statute of limitations of 3 years. This means that you have time to settle your case with the insurance company before you are required to take it to court. Although we do suggest that you seek legal advice about your personal injury as soon as possible to avoid these kinds of situations, by law, you are always given a specific amount of time to settle your case or take it to court.
NOTICE: The information contained on this site is intended to educate the general public and not to provide legal advice. To obtain proper legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.